top of page

Thoughts from Joshua: Change Pt.2

Change: “to make the form, nature, content, future course, etc. of something different from what it is or from what it would be if left alone” (dictionary.com).

When you hear rumblings of change, what comes to mind? Fear? Resent? Happiness? Joy? Confusion? Unrest? For many, change can be a fearful thing.

As I have talked about previously, we are in a season of change right now (see previous post). It is wonderfully exciting, but it's also kind of scary at times. Some days, I am over-the-top ecstatic about entering this new phase. Other days, fear takes over and becomes paralyzing.

This week, I started reading the book of Joshua. I started in the beginning and was awestruck by what I read in the first chapter. It takes place during the transition between Moses and Joshua as leaders of the Israelite people. You can tell that it is a time that is unsettled and full of fear. But then God is talking to Joshua and tells him,

"Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you. Be strong and courageous, for you shall cause this people to inherit the land that I swore to their fathers to give them." Joshua 1:5-6 ESV

{Then Later}

"Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go."Joshua 1:9 ESV

I love this.

It's like God is saying, “Hey! I know that you're afraid and confused right now, but I've got this! Don't be afraid. Be strong and full of courage and put your focus on me, because I have a plan and I'm not leaving you.”

To me, this is a picture of love, faithfulness and grace. The Israelite people were going through a season of change and unrest, and despite all that had happened, God was faithful to his promises and took care of them. His plan did not fail them. This passage jumped out at me because of the season of change we are going through right now. It's neat because the story is about transitions and changes, and my little family is also going through transitions and changes. It has helped me remember that the same God who brought the Israelite people through the wilderness, and fulfilled his promises to them will also bring me and my family through this season of change and will fulfill his plan for our lives.

How beautiful, comforting and strengthening is that?

Related Posts

See All
Related Posts:

FUN FACTS ABOUT ME

#1 

I'm a quarter Swedish (4th generation) and love to embrace that part of my heritage!

 

#2

I might seem like a homebody, but I always enjoy a good outdoor adventure!

#3

I am the oldest of 5 siblings and I absolutely love being a part of a large family!

bottom of page